Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for the ‘Uncategorized’ Category

Jester Jim Juggling Show — come and welcome back Jester Jim to Goshen. We are SO happy he will be joining us on Tuesday August 5. http://ow.ly/i/6neij

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

Spring EGGstravaganza

A Morning of Crafts! Bunny Mask, String of Bunnies, Nest of Yummy Treats…

April 17th — 10:30AM – call to register

Read Full Post »

Spring EGGstravaganza

A Morning of Crafts! Bunny Mask, String of Bunnies, Nest of Yummy Treats…

April 17th — 10:30AM – call to register

Read Full Post »

Silly Willy Wednesday — Wednesday April 9th an after-school program, pick-up at 2:30PM
silly snacks, silly jokes, silly stories, silly crafts
call to register

Read Full Post »

Sheila Connolly will be here in June … mark your calenars and read one of her books before she comes, she writes three different series so you are bound to find something you like!

Read Full Post »

Second Grave on the Left by Darynda Jones ISBN 9780312360818

Second Grave on the Left by Darynda Jones

cover art from Second Grave on the Left by Darynda Jones

I know that most of the time I am easily amused and that my tastes in fiction lie towards the light humor sort of things.  The way I figure it, life is hard enough; I really don’t need to read about it.  For me, reading is escapism and when I want to escape … let me read well written fluff.

The second installment in the Charley Davidson, grim reaper, series was great and if you are looking for something with humor and romance and some mystery on the side.  This is it!

Charley is a private investigator who has the most unusual set of snitches — ghosts.  She has always been able to  speak to ghosts even before she could speak.

Cookie, Charley’s best friend and receptionist, wakes her up one night and drags her to an all night diner to meet Cookie’s friend Mimi who needs to hire Charley.  However, when they get to the diner there are only about 4 people at the diner and just 2 of them are living and the other two work there.  They find a cryptic note in the bathroom and that starts them on a merry chase of missing people and dead bodies dating back to high school days.

Reyes is still in the picture — but since he has escaped from prison he has gone missing.  Charley has been looking for him and has been unable to track him down.  She learns that he has been captured by demons and she truly wants to help but he refuses her aid for she is the portal to heaven and she is the one that the demons want.

This is an action packed adventure with great characters and a strong story line.  A series I definitely recommend.

 

Book Description

Release Date: August 16, 2011
Charley Davidson, Grim Reaper Extraordinaire, is back in this sexy, suspenseful novel of supernatural shenanigans
When Charley is rudely awakened in the middle of the night by her best friend who tells her to get dressed quickly and tosses clothes out of the closet at her, she can’t help but wonder what Cookie’s up to. Leather scrunch boots with a floral miniskirt? Together? Seriously? Cookie explains that a friend of hers named Mimi disappeared five days earlier and that she just got a text from her setting up a meet at a coffee shop downtown. They show up at the coffee shop, but no Mimi. But Charley finds a message on the bathroom wall. Mimi left a clue, a woman’s name. Mimi’s husband explains that his wife had been acting strange since she found out an old friend of hers from high school had been found murdered a couple weeks prior. The same woman Mimi had named in her message.
Meanwhile, Reyes Alexander Farrow (otherwise known as the Son of Satan. Yes. Literally) has left his corporeal body and is haunting Charley. He’s left his body because he’s being tortured by demons who want to lure Charley closer. But Reyes can’t let that happen. Because if the demons get to Charley, they’ll have a portal to heaven. And if they have a portal to heaven…well, let’s just say it wouldn’t be pretty. Can Charley handle hot nights with Reyes and even hotter days tracking down a missing woman? Will Cookie ever get a true fashion sense? And is there enough coffee and chocolate in the world to fuel them as they do?Here is your signpost for the most hilarious read of the summer: Second Grave On The Left.

Read Full Post »

Sisters Grimm Fairy Tale Detectives by Michael Buckley read by L.J. Ganser

Sisters Grimm Fairy Tale Detectives by Michael Buckley

cover art from Sisters Grimm Fairy Tale Detectives by Michael Buckley

I can’t believe that I didn’t write anything about this before because I did indeed listen to this before … maybe it was in that spell when I didn’t do much writing of my thoughts on books.

I love this series because it helps students learn about fairy tale creatures.  There used to be a time when all kids knew all the fairy tales, yet now the children’s librarian at the local library says parents aren’t reading fairy tales to children anymore and so she feels the need to introduce the kids to these characters.

Fairy tales are our history and people make references to characters and if kids have never heard of them they can be at a loss — so here they are in all their glory.

Sabrina and Daphne are ‘orphans’ — abandoned by their parents more than a year ago.  They have been in one foster family set up after another but they cause problems where ever they go and their Social Worker, Miss Smirt is at the end of her very short rope.  Finally Granny Relda Grimm gets in contact with Miss Smirt and claims to be the grandmother.  Sabrina doesn’t believe her because her parents had always said that they had no living relatives.

However they move to Ferryport Landing, NY, and they meet all kinds of fun people (and not so fun!): Mayor Charming, Mr. Canus, Puck, Jack the Giant Killer and Mirror.

It is a great series and it starts off beautifully.  This book is recommended for all kids who like fun adventure!

 

Book Description

Publication Date: August 1, 2005 | Grade Level: 3 and up | Series: The Sisters Grimm (Book 1)
With the winning combination of Nancy Drew meets Shrek, this first book in the new Sisters Grimm series will entertain with a hilarious mix of mysteries and fairy tale twists.

In the tradition of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and The Spiderwick Chronicles comes a new humorous mystery of fantastic circumstances. The Sisters Grimm (Book One): The Fairy Tale Detectives introduces us to two orphaned sisters, Sabrina and Daphne, who are sent to live with their mysterious grandmother, Relda Grimm. Grandmother Grimm lives in a strange town in New York State, known for it’s extraordinary number of unexplained and unusual crimes. As soon as the sisters arrive, they begin to unravel a mystery that leads to their ancestors’ magical beginnings. Sabrina and Daphne learn they are descendants of the Brothers Grimm, who were actually detectives of the magical phenomenon perpetrated by the Everafters, a parallel race of magical beings. They soon discover it is the Grimm family’s legacy to keep the Everafters in line and the two sisters are the sole heirs to this challenge!

In this first book in the series, the girls are pitted against giants, who have been rampaging through town in their search for an Englishman named Jack, currently working at the Big & Tall store.

In a new breed of mystery that intermingles humor, excitement, adventure and imagination, The Sisters Grimm Book One: The Fairy Tale Detectives will inject the legends of fairytale with modern day sensibilities and suspense, creating an irresistible combination young readers will love!

Read Full Post »

Older Posts »